Our Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for the overall governance and strategic direction of Silcoates School, developing the aims of the School, its objectives and goals, in accordance with legal and regulatory guidelines. It comprises men and women from a wide variety of backgrounds. Three are nominated by the United Reformed Church and three by the Silcoatians Association and the other places are filled by those whose professional and personal experience is of value to the future success and development of the School.

The Chair of Governors can be contacted by emailing chairofgovernors@silcoates.org.uk or by writing to the Chair of Governors, c/o Head’s PA, Silcoates School, Wrenthorpe, Wakefield, WF2 0PD.

Each term of appointment is for a period of three years. All Governors are given the opportunity to attend courses, seminars and conferences run by the Association of Governing Bodies of Independent Schools (AGBIS) and other educational and commercial organisations. The costs of all such training and related travel and accommodation are reimbursed from school funds.

The Board of Governors meets once a term. It receives reports from the Headmaster and from the Chair of each of the committees, the recommendations of which it ratifies as appropriate. The Board of Governors has overall responsibility for the School, but delegates its day-to-day operations to the Headmaster, the Bursar and other key personnel on the Senior Leadership Team.

The Finance and General Purposes Committee (F&GP) usually meets four times in each school year, but occasionally more often, to discuss the financial and management accounts of the School. The F&GP recommends key financial decisions to the Board, such as revisions to staff salaries and school fees.

The Education Committee (EdCom) usually meets four times in each school year. Its functions are to discuss and advise the Board on matters relating to the curriculum and other educational functions of the School; to support the Senior Leadership Team, Heads of Section, Heads of Department and the teaching staff in the School’s operation and development; and to provide a channel of communication between the Governors and teaching staff, principally through the arrangements by which Governors are linked with academic departments.

The Health & Safety Committee (H&SC) meets at least once a term. Chaired by a Governor elected by the Board, its membership comprises (ex officio) the Chair of the Board, the Headmaster and other members of the SLT.

Other committees and working groups are set up from time to time when needed.

The Chairman, the Vice-Chairman and Members of Committees are re-elected annually at the Summer Term meeting of the Board for a twelve-month period commencing on 1st September.

Sue Lee
Chair of Governors

Sarah Crozier

Michael Hunter

Ben Jackson

Andrew Jeffery

Adrian Lingard

David Payling

Barbara Tibbetts

Mark Willings